CLICK HERE 

   for a copy of the

   Connecticut

   Driving Manual


     Learn“HOWE”To Drive

     With Us!  CALL US TODAY

Howe Driving School


Monroe Office


324 Elm Street 

Monroe, CT 06468

203-261-0500 

Howe Driving School


Stratford Office  (New Location)

 3569 Main Street 

Stratford, CT 06614

203-375-HOWE (4693)

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Teenagers

GETTING YOUR LICENSE
Getting your license is an exciting time in your life, but remember: It’s a huge responsibility that requires defensive, smart driving. Connecticut has a lot of rules and regulations about obtaining your license and driving under the age of 18. Howe Driving School is here to help you navigate through the process, while helping you develop the driving skills necessary to be safe and trouble-free on the road. We are your one-stop shop for obtaining your license.


Here are a few things to know off the bat:

120 Days from the permit date is the soonest you may take your license exam (DMV Law).
You may attend our classes to fit your own schedule to complete course requirements.

Refer to monthly class schedules for the daily class subject - classes are repeated monthly.


Click here for information on:

Teen Courses and Classes | Obtaining Your Permit | Road Training | Day of Your License Test | After Your Test.

TEEN COURSE CONSISTS OF THE FOLLOWING

​​Thirty hours of classroom instruction (fifteen two-hour classes)

Eight hours of behind-the-wheel instruction
Drug and alcohol classes (Part A and B) (included in the thirty-hour curriculum)
Mandatory parent/student class (two-hour class)

Additional road lessons may be scheduled with us at a per-hour fee.

TEEN CLASS HOURS
Stratford Office
Monday through Thursday 3:30 - 5:30
Saturday 8:00 to 12:00 - check monthly schedules

Monroe Office
Monday through Thursday 2:00 - 4:00 or 4:00 - 6:00
Saturday 9:00 - 11:00 - check monthly schedules

Winter cancellations

Call our office for bad-weather road lesson and class cancellations - If your school is cancelled due to conditions, there will be no classes at Howe. We reserve the right to cancel road lessons or classes for safety reasons.

Obtaining a Permit

​​Schedule your permit test appointment online at:
https://www.dmvteen.ct.gov/dmv/do-it-onlineyou may choose your test date,

time of the test and the DMV branch office. You must pay online with a credit card ($40.00)

includes the DMV road test fee.

Since you will have an appointment at the DMV your testing time will be at that time.
No waiting hours!

Bring with you the following:

  • Birth certificate/Copy (state/city cert. only)
  • Social Security card/Copy (with signature)
  • Address verification - DMV requires two forms of address verification.  Verification may be in the form of a utility bill in the driver's name dated within 90 days, mortgage document, signed lease or rental agreement, or a postmarked letter dated within 90 days if the resident address is the same as the mailing address.
  • Parent or legal guardian
  • DMV Permit Test fee - $40.00 and $19.00


IF YOU DO NOT HAVE ANY OF THE ABOVE IDs, PLEASE ASK US. THERE ARE OTHERS THAT MAY BE SUBSTITUTED.

PERMIT TEST CONSISTS OF THE FOLLOWING:

  • Twenty-five questions - multiple-choice test (20 questions must be correct)
  • Eye exam (Please bring your glasses or contacts if you require them.)
  • You will be issued a permit the same day and may start driving (with restrictions).


ROAD TRAINING

CT State Law requires 16 and 17-year-old applicants to obtain a learner's permit to receive

any behind-the-wheel training.


During this period, you will be taking the state-required eight hours of behind-the-wheel training

with Howe Driving School. Please schedule all road appointments with our office 1-2 months before

your license examination.

Along with your professional training, you may legally drive with your parent or anyone 20 years of age or older for more experience. That person must have had a CT license for the last four years with no suspensions.

Twenty hours of classroom time must be completed before scheduling road lessons with Howe.

Your CT Learner's Permit must be in your possession during ALL road training sessions.

WHEN SCHEDULING YOUR ROAD LESSONS:

Specify if you wish to be picked up, and where or if you will meet the instructor at the school. Please notify your instructor where you wish to end your lesson at the start of your lesson.

Parents/guardians are required to give an additional thirty-eight road hours of training. Log sheets can be obtained at Howe, or go to
http://www.ct.gov/teendriving to download log sheets.

IMPORTANT!

Courses must be paid in full when road lessons are scheduled with the driving school. It is recommended that all road lessons be scheduled 2-3 months before the final license exam!

Any cancellations/changes of road lessons require a minimum 24 hours notice to use. Insufficient notice results in a CANCELLATION FEE!!


​​IMPORTANT: FIRST-COME BASIS ONLY!

The DMV administers license exams at our office several times each month. We try to accommodate every student who wishes a particular date - No spots are held - First-come basis. QUOTAS APPLY FOR EACH TEST - Per DMV, PLEASE - Apply 1 to 2 months before desired test date. Till you do, you do not have a test spot!

TEEN COURSE FEE DOES NOT INCLUDE DMV FEES OR LICENSE SERVICE FEE.

What You Need To Submit To Us For A Test Spot:

1. Copy of your Learner's Permit

2. License service fee to Howe ($90.00)
3. Parent/guardian must sign license application to verify additional road training


DAY OF YOUR LICENSE TEST

Come to the Howe office where the test is being held - at your assigned time - latecomers will not be tested - NO-SHOWS FORFEIT ALL FEES

Your final License Exam will consist of a road test only.

ROAD EXAM MAY INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING:

  • Basic and critical driving skills
  • Left and right turns
  • Backing and parking maneuvers
  • Knowledge of right-of-way rules
  • Proper lane selection
  • Road test content is at the discretion of the DMV


AFTER YOUR TEST

Two days after your test is the soonest you can actually get your license - unless otherwise instructed by the DMV inspectors. We will give you an instruction sheet listing what you need to bring to the DMV to obtain your license.

Go to the BPT DMV and bring with you the following:

  • Road evaluation sheet from the inspector
  • Your 6 year state license fee
  • Driver Education Certificate - Don't let DMV keep it. It's yours.
  • Your permit


You have a maximum of sixty days to pick up your license - We advise you do so as soon as possible. After that, you must take a retest. Don't delay! Passenger restrictions apply for 16 and 17-year-old new drivers obey curfew and cell phone ban until age 18. ​